Helsinki Bus Station Theory

(Posted by Sara O’Connor)

I love the idea of this theory, but wonder if it’s true.

Screen Shot 2016-01-17 at 22.46.07.png

I know that there is such a lot of talent out there, and I feel strongly that very often the reason writers aren’t finding success is down to the ideas they spend their on.

When I read this article, part of me shouted, “Yes!” I can see how following this theory could lead people to that place of originality, to finding the idea that makes everyone sit up and say, “Wow, that’s different!” It just makes sense to me that spending the time – a lot of time – on one thing could change the way you see it so much that your ideas will capture the elusive attention of the masses.

But in the past, I’ve often told people to try new things, to not be stuck in the same genre, the same age range. And I still feel that is true, too. Variety could help you find the thing that really clicks with you.

But what if switching is an easy way out? After all, you loved that area of writing enough to write a whole book in it. I’m so torn.

So, go and read the article and tell me what you think below!

Leave a Reply

